Prototypes

2 Apr

I am now focusing more on the aesthetics and design of the Ambient Energy Information Display. I began by researching what symbols, words, materials, designs etc were related with environmental awareness. I investigated the use of a “tree metaphor” as this is often associated with environmental awareness. I was also exploring the idea of using a wooden sculpture because its more natural and nature related.

The “Mood Lamp” and “Flower” are two prototypes I have developed. The Mood Lamp is a hand-made, wooden sculpture that can also be used as a candle holder. At an earlier stage in the project I was considering the use of a candle holder because candle light is an effective form of mood lighting that doesn’t consume electricity.

The Flower prototype is still at an early stage but the concept is to incorporate the use of colour into a flower sculpture.  Using Fibre Optic strands and LEDs I was able to develop an abstract flower design.

The Mood Lamp

The Flower

Leave a comment